How to Qualify for an FHA Loan?

There are several conventional loan programs available for anyone who wants to invest and put up their own house. However, they require at least 5% of down payment besides other requirements. FHA loan requirements are easy to comply with, and they require only up to 3.5% down payment. In addition to this, individuals who have credit scores as low as 580, and who have unpaid debts are mostly prohibited to avail of those conventional loans, while they may avail of an FHA loan under certain conditions.

The following are the things one needs to do to qualify for an FHA loan requirement:

1. Save at least 3.5% down payment

No loans are offered free. FHA loan provides everyone down payment for as low as 3.5%, while others are 5%. However, in reality, one needs to save up to 6% of the house’s total purchasing price that includes an upfront mortgage insurance premium equal to 1.75 % of the house’s value. Although one can reduce the number to 1.25 though the FHA-approved credit counseling program.

2.Have a verifiable income

Having a steady income that you are able to verify with a tax return or pay-stubs is also a very important requirement to be able to apply for an FHA loan. Typically, the lenders would typically prefer an individual who has worked in the same company or corporation for at least a year or two.

3.Establish a good credit history

Generally, the FHA loans prefer the individual to have at least two lines of credit such as a credit card and a student loan to be identified as qualified.

4.Afford the housing payment and any existing debt

There is a need to establish your capability of being able to afford the payment. For this, you can follow this guideline:

  • The mortgage payment and the monthly debt payments like your credit cards and car loans should not exceed up to 48% of the income
  • The mortgage payment should not exceed 35% of the income

There are software and application that let you calculate the approximation of this and how much you are qualified to purchase, such as the home affordability calculator.

5. Choose a house that does not exceed the loan limits

The amount a person is able to loan has limitations set by the federal government as well as the state. However, these limits are high enough for people to be able to purchase high-end houses.

Also, FHA loans limit the person to purchase houses that are less than its standards for the purpose of avoiding to provide the person upper-fixer house.

6. Choose the correct type of FHA loan

There are variations of loans one can apply and the 30-year fixed interest is the most common type of loan that is applied by many although other options provide 10, 15, 20, and 25 years.

Take some steps forward now

Of course, the most effective way to be qualified is to start processing your application now and work for the requirements. If you think that you qualify with the abovementioned qualifications, take the first step, and get pre-approved with your lender of choice.